DC-ACP Chapter Awards

The District of Columbia Chapter of the ACP is pleased to honor the following chapter award recipients for their dedication, demonstration of excellence, and support of the chapter and the science and humanity of medicine.

John F. Maher Memorial Laureate Award.  The John F. Maher Memorial Laureate Award is the highest award that the DC Chapter can bestow on any of its members. It was begun in 1993 in memory of a superb physician, friend, teacher and writer who had developed an international reputation in renal disease.

Past Winners

2010 Alice L. Fuisz, MD, FACP
2011 Lawrence Lessin, MD, MACP
2012 Louis Pangaro, MD, MACP
2013 Henry Masur, MD, MACP
2014 Laurie E. Duncan, MD, FACP
2015 Shmuel Shoham, MD, FACP
2016 Przemyslaw Hiszel, MD, FACP
2016 Kaldun Nossuli, MD, FACP
2017 Nazia Qazi, MD, FACP
2018 Patience White, MD, FACP
2019 Ashesh D. Patel, MD, FACP
2020 Sailaja Pindiprolu, MD, FACP

Sol Katz Teaching Award

Past Winners

2010 Leonard B. Seeff, MD
2011 Burton Lee, MD and April Barber, MD
2012 Robert Jablonover, MD and Sean Whelton, MD
2013 Charles Faselis, MD, FACP and LCDR Todd Gleeson MC
2014 Michael Adams, MD, MACP
2015 Sailaja Pindiprolu, MD, FACP
2015 Jalil Ahari, MD
2016 Andrew Shorr, MD
2016 Marc Siegel, MD
2017 COL Paul A. Hemmer, MC USAF FACP
2017 Matthew G. Tuck, MD, FACP
2018 Chavon Ohumah, MD, FACP
2019 Charles A. Read, Jr., MD
2019 Angelike Liappis, MD
2020 Jillian S Catalanotti, MD, FACP
2020 Christian Woods, MD, FACP

Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Past Winners

2010 Katalin E. Roth, MD, FACP
2011 Raymond L. Martins, MD
2012 Elise Riley, MD
2013 A. Janelle Goetcheus, MD
2014 James F. Duffy, SJ, MD
2015 Veronica Jenkins, MD
2016 Shelly McDonald-Pinkett, MD, FACP
2016 Joan Ritter, MD, FACP
2017 Kate Sugarman, MD
2018 N. Thomas Connally, MD, MACP
2019 Randi Abramson, MD
2020 Cynthia M Tracy, MD

Leadership Award

Past Winners

2010 Laurie E. Duncan, MBBS, FACP
2011 Shmuel Shoham, MD
2012 Jerry Meyer, MD, FACP
2013 Ashesh Patel, MD, FACP
2014 Lawrence E. Klein, MD, MACP
2015 Nazia Qazi, MD, FACP
2016 George Philips, MBBS, FACP
2017 Jennifer E. Mills, MD, FACP
2018 Katie Saulters, MD
2019 Robert S. Wilkinson, MD, MACP
2020 Alan G Pocinki, MD, FACP

Walter Lester Henry, Jr. Memorial Award for a Lifetime of Excellent Teaching

2010 Vinod Mody, MD
2010 Charles E. Rath, MD, FACP
2011 John Bennett, MD, MACP and Charles Curry, MD
2012 Martin Dillard, MD, MACP and Margo Smith, MD, FACP
2013 Kenneth Burman, MD, MACP and Edward Tsou, MD
2014 James D. Finkelstein, MD, MACP and Davis J. Nashel, MD, FACP
2015 Geraldine Schechter, MD, MACP
2015 Leonard Wartofsky, MD, MACP
2016 Ross Fletcher, MD
2016 Victor Scott, MD, MACP
2017 David M. Parenti, MD, FACP
2018 Samuel Spagnolo, MD
2018 Carmelita Tuazon, MD
2019 Robert E. Goldstein, MD, MACP
2019 Manual T. Velasquez, MD
2020 Daniel Ein, MD, FACP

Community Based Teaching Award

2018 Raymond Martins, MD

Advancing Careers for Minorities

2019 Pauline Titus-Dillon, MD, MACP